Trying to fill a vacancy- What am I doing wrong?

9 Replies

I bought my first property last year, and this is my first time trying to fill a vacant unit. I listed the 3-bedroom unit for rent over a month ago. I think it's priced appropriately, and I posted it a number of places online. I get, on average, 5 messages every day from people who are "interested". We've had 12 people scheduled for group showings, but only 5 have showed up. Of those 5, 3 have filled out applications, and I've approved 2 of them. Both people who were "approved" then failed to come up with the security deposit. What am I doing wrong here? I know it's a bad time of year to fill a vacancy, but is it normal to have this much trouble? I've already lowered the price once and it seemed to make no difference in the amount of interest. I'm getting very nervous, as this property is a triplex and we're renovating another unit, so 2/3 units are vacant right now, and I'm paying electric bills for both of those to keep pipes from freezing. I'm just looking for any advice or encouragement from more experienced landlords. Thanks!

@Emily McCabe Can you provide link(s) to where you have posted the unit for rent online?  It's hard to give advice without seeming how you're marketing the property.  As for "is it normal?" I'd say that it's entirely normal to have issues renting a 3 bedroom unit around the holidays.  Three bedrooms generally means "families" and unless they're getting evicted a lot of families will be focused on Christmas presents, staying inside to keep warm, etc.  If I'm a 25 year old single guy looking for a 1 bedroom, who cares about the weather?  I probably have some frat bros to help me load the moving truck and we can chow down on some pizza after.  I'm making things up but it's a little different than saying: "Now that Dick and Jane are done opening their Christmas presents, let's bundle them up in 5 layers and head to a group showing."