Window AC Units...Any Suggestions?

3 Replies

My recent rental purchase is a 2-family without central AC. My plan is to provide window units. I have little experience with them.

Any experience or recommendations would be helpful. Any brands to avoid or suggest? I believe that each unit will need 2-3 window units, probably in the 5K-8K BTU range.

@Scott Weaner first of all make sure that the market doesn't demand central AC. I currently own 13 units in Lyons and Berwyn, IL, which are solid B class areas. I can have the tenants provide their own window units! I looked at a C class property out of area and the tenants were all provided with central forced air/central ac! And this was a C class property with section 8 tenants!

If you can get away with window units, why not see if the tenants will provide their own? You may not even need to provide any. Again, let the market dictate these types of things. 

It might depend on the neighborhood.  In a not-so-great neighborhood in (say) Minneapolis, the tenants might trade sweating for a few days in the summer for a reduced risk of somebody pushing in the A/C and breaking in through the window the rest of the year.  In almost any neighborhood in (say) Phoenix, the tenants probably won't rent it without some kind of A/C.

You may want to look into installing latches on the windows, besides the ones that are there now, so the windows can be latched from the inside with the A/C in place.  Somebody that really wants to get in can still do it, but it might help provide peace of mind for tenants.

Those size A/Cs will run on a regular 120 V circuit, but you might look around to make sure there are outlets close enough to all the windows you want to put them in.  If you have to use an extension cord, get one of those beefy gray 14 gauge ones that come in 3, 6, and 9 foot lengths, and use the shortest one you reasonably can.