Applicant with a bankruptcy - what to do?

19 Replies

Our minimum qualifications for our 4-bedroom rental home lists, among other things, "Applicant must exhibit a responsible financial life. Credit score must be a minimum of 600." Three adults submitted applications to live together in the house (husband, wife and parent of the wife...let's call her Jane.) Husband and wife meet all qualification standards. Jane meets 600 credit score but has a 2016 Chapter 7 bankruptcy and contributes to the income through Social Security. Husband makes bulk of the income but Jane's contribution is necessary to meet minimum qualification of monthly income that is 3X the rent.  Also, the wife's income is SS-Disability but this does not disqualify her. Do we move on to the next applicant? Thanks for any advice.

Natalie Landry

Hey Natalie,

I'm not an expert in this field of law, but if you wrote in the contract, "Applicant must exhibit a responsible financial life," then I would think it's up to you to decide if they meet the qualifications.

Having filed for bankruptcy, I would not consider that a responsible financial life. However, laws are funny. I might contact a lawyer to see if they can help you for a small fee. Up to you!

Thanks!

@Natalie Landry - I wouldn't disqualify just on a Chapter 7 filing, especially since her income is SS.

Carol C.

Here's my own personal thoughts on applicants with prior bankruptcies, others may have differing opinions.  I don't mind applicants who have had bankruptcies as long as they've already been discharged. 

The way I look at it, they likely had most/all of their debt wiped out via the bankruptcy, which should leave them more money to pay rent than they had before the bankruptcy.