Application fees refund

10 Replies

I’m currently advertising my rental unit. I’ve had about 20 calls and texts. I gave everyone a time frame to come by and look since I’ll be painting the trim and finishing up last minute details. 

I have applications ready to go and am charging a small fee. 

I’m only going to run reports on people who I get a good vibe from and who have the income to afford it. 

1. Should I return the application fees for those who I don’t rent to? I feel weird taking there money if they won’t live here. 

2. Should I just run checks one at a time until I find a good candidate? 

3. How do I tell those that I’m not interested in that it’s a no? 

I’m not good at this part.....

1) I don't charge an application fee until I've narrowed down my top pick and decide to run a credit/background check. Then I charge the fee to cover the checks. Usually, if you tell people upfront that you'll be running checks, they'll show you their dirty laundry. For me, the actual check is a last step security measure before giving the final OK to sign a lease.

2) Answered in 1.

3) I would come up with a standard template letter and send the same thing to everyone. 

First of all, I hope you have a definitive criteria on who qualifies, and not just a "good vibe". I require 600 credit score, 3 times rent for income, no felonies, no evictions (ever). If you're getting that many applicants where you are spending considerable time on applications, maybe you should be raising rents. I do preliminary checks from their paper application. Then, when that looks good, they pay $40 for background checks.