Choosing a new rental property

5 Replies

This is spawned from another discussion:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/52/topics/591...

I really like the input "You didn't buy that house as an investment, so sell it", but to take that a step further; what do you all look for in an investment rental property. I have about $50K equity in my current rental, that everyone recognizes should probably be sold.

I know the 2% rule (rent should be 1-2% of total cost of home purchase), but I would love to know more about what works for you guys. I am really new to the rentals as an investment, instead of the rentals as a necessity to get to a new home.

I'd really love to obtain a multifamily home in the next year, so input on these or single family homes would be solid.

I hate the 1-2% rule because it doesn't account for a lot of things like property taxes etc.  The best things to look for will be the location, a rental in a good location will usually be better over the long term.  The second is the cap rate, this is essentially the return on your money if you bought with cash, this takes into account expenses making it superior to the 1% or 2% rule in my opinion.  Cap rates will vary based on location but once you have evaluated enough properties in a given area you will begin to know what is a good cap rate and what is not.

@Dennis M. that isn't why I hate it.  I hate it because Let's say a 1% property in TX vs a 1% property in CA or more realistically NM or OK

$1,500/month on 150k in TX with 2.8% property tax

or

$1,500/month on 150k in CA with 1.1% property tax

with all other expenses being roughly equal property tax in TX would be $4,200 while in CA it would be $1,650, that makes a big difference.  Yes I know you can't find 2% in CA but I am not a fan of rules that supposedly apply nationally.