SmartMove aplication to screen tennants. worth it?

7 Replies

Hi everyone I am pretty new to BiggerPockets and as well as real estate investing and I was playing around the site and came across the SmartMove application to screen applicants and possible new tenants. Was wondering if any of you have used this and would recommend it?  I was wondering if I were to choose the $40.00 package would I be able to get away with charging a $40 application fee to interested renters or is that a little to steep? Any insight and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

I used the service for my last vacancy, I was pleased with the service.  As for the application fee, it depends on your market.  What are others charging for an application fee in your area?  For the last one I did I charged a $40 application fee as the area supported it, however at one of my other properties I would not be able to charge that much.

I use and like it. The tenant pays the $40 charge, I don't collect any fees. This is good because 1) no additional re portable income 2) I know if a tenant is serious or not if they go online and actually do it. I don't think the background check is that thorough but I haven't found anything better. Also, don't confuse the tenant score with a credit score. It's not the same but I bet they aren't that far off. The information in the credit report is more important than the score anyway. You could also check out Cozy's screening. I've never used it but I would be willing to bet its about the same quality.