Investing in Milwaukee, WI

21 Replies

I'd like to invest in Milwaukee. I'm attracted to the high cap rates I see in Milwaukee. 

I have some money set aside, and I have a pre-qualification letter from a bank in Madison. However, I'm open to different financing if there's a better way. 

My strategy will be to buy and hold. I'm open to minor rehabs, but living in a different city makes me nervous about rehabs. I'm new to investing outside the city where I live. I'm also fairly new to real estate investing. 

I'd love to connect with a great property manager, real estate agent, and possibly general contractor in Milwaukee, and I'd like some advice on neighborhoods as well.

It would be fantastic to travel to Milwaukee and connect with this team of people in a few weeks (or less) as well as look at properties while I'm there. 

Is it realistic that I could identify a few properties and make an offer in a about a week from that first visit? 

I've read through some similar posts on Milwaukee, too:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/776/topics/56...

https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/52/topics/517...

Thanks for your time, and I appreciate any advice, suggestions, questions, or comments. 

@Scott

@Scott Eissfeldt I live in Milwaukee and although I have not invested in this area yet, I have also been forming a strategy - I have some capital, as well as the desire to make something happen.  May be worth chatting and I would be happy to answer any questions you have about the city to the best of my ability!  Thanks! undefined

Everyone, thanks for all the help!

@Shawn Ackerman - I made it to Milwaukee, and I put an offer on my first duplex there. The deal is scheduled to close on January 25th. 

@Garrett Fox - I should have contacted you while I was there recently. The next time I'm there, I'll send you a note. 

I'm pretty excited. I'll make a post to the "success stories" section when this closes. Thanks again!