Windows replacement and Asbestos

13 Replies

We are in the process of changing one window (due to rotten frames) of our rental Quadruplex built in 1986. After removing the window, the tenant started raising concerns of exposure to Asbestos (tenant claims to be an expert in Asbestos). We had to stop the window replacement job due to the concern. 

We have reached out to a certified company to come onsite and inspect for asbestos which is scheduled tomorrow. The asbestos company representative said, the chances of asbestos in a 1986 house is very rare however it can be confirmed only after testing.

Tenant is threatening that we didnt inspect it ahead of the work and thereby going to court.

Would like to know from experienced people who dealt with this situation before. 

that's sounds crazy!  what are they saying has asbestos?  i am no expert at all on asbestos, but i have changed a lot of windows over the years.  you're just pulling off window trim, and i assume pulling out the old sashes.  doesn't seem like you're exposing anything but framing, and window jambs?  maybe old insulation? 

@Moncy Samuel Built in 1986? Highly doubt you’d have asbestos being so new . That was a problem for houses built in the 30’s and 40’s. After thIs Is all straIghteneed out Id assure the tenant that while he may be an expert With Asbestos , you are an expert at evictions and he will soon be homeless for his shenanigans

Sounds like this person is just looking for a lawsuit. What kind of tenant were they before this incident? Even if there was asbestos, that extremely little bit isn't going to affect them in any way. However, I have seen judges make some terrible rulings. I wouldn't worry too much about it.

My father worked around asbestos for 40+ years and never had an issue.