Tenant who signed 1month lease.

25 Replies

Rented to a person that decided the apartment wasn't up to her standards. Solved the problem by offering her a month to month th lease. Been a problem tenant since she moved in. Can I send a 90 notice after the 30 days stating a rent increase of 100 dollars to her rent if she wants to continue living there month to month?

You need to study your state landlord tenant regulations to find out when a rent increase can be imposed and what the notice requirements are. You are required to know your state codes to operate your business.

Read you codes then come back and ask questions for clarification if necessary. Codes are state specific.

Why don't  you just terminate her lease, with the specified time frame of notice that was written in lease? If you don't want her there this seems fairly easy on a MTM lease. 

@Ashley Hodge I'm a property manager up in Cody. Give me a holler if you ever have a question about Wyoming leases. Another good resource is @Jerry W. in Thermopolis.

Since they are on a month-to-month lease, you can terminate or change the lease terms with 30 days notice. You don't have to coincide with the end of the month, either. In other words, you could give them notice on September 5th that their lease terms are changing effective October 5th. As long as they have at least 30 days written notice.

@Ashley Hodge , the terms of the lease work the same for both parties unless you specify otherwise.  Month to month means either can terminate with one months notice.  The same is true for raising rent.  You do need to be aware of any special laws that the town may have passed.  Very few towns have enacted Landlord laws in WY.  The notable major exception I am aware of is Laramie due the need because of some very unscrupulous landlords.  As to state law it is hard to imagine a more landlord friendly state than WY.  Evictions are often completed in less than 2 weeks.  I have had some take less than 1 week.