What amenities attract the best tenants?

52 Replies

I've seen in other threads that a lot of landlords basically always include a dishwasher and tile the shower, even for lower end properties. I'm wondering how BP feels about other things like washer/dryer, a/c, garbage disposal, etc.

I'm very new to this, and I'm sure my idea wasn't the "best" but I replaced all my appliances and left the washer and dryer and its worked well for me.  I'm in a military market so the washer and dyer is very appealing. 

I have found that laundry in the unit/on the premises is something that attracts many tenants. Being in Wisconsin, and you from Pitt, being able to stay in and avoid the cold for almost half of the year, is a big boon. Also, having tile showers in our apartment building is something that has attracted a lot of high quality renters even to our low income areas. 

@Stephen Ellis I do wonder about new appliances. Seems like it is a lot of extra expenses but I personally am happy to Shell out for it if it means better tenants. Thanks for the info
@Calvin Ozanick good to know, thanks. Yeah for me personally, having laundry on site would be important, so I can see that being a big item for the renters as well. I've seen some people avoid including laundry because they don't want to deal with the maintenance, but I'd rather deal with fixing up laundry machines than with bad tenants
 @Steve Emling : The tenants were definitely attracted to the brand new matching black stainless Samsung stuff.  It was a little investment but I caught them at the black Friday sale and saved a average of 40%

Lowe's and Home Depot both run appliance sales in November every year @ 40% off. I always pick up a couple of set's for future rentals. Use a rewards credit card and pay it off immediately ... Bonus! 

@Steve Emling for a washer/dryer I provide hook ups but let the tenant provide their own. You don't need to provide them for two reasons: