General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Allen Vance
Votes |
Advice for negative cashflow Airbnb

Allen Vance
Posted Mar 4 2019, 11:08

Ok, so I'm new to BP and I'm probably posting in the wrong place. I appreciate your patience. 

I live in Los Angeles and a couple of years ago I bought a tiny homestead cabin on 5 acres about 2 hours away in the hi-desert of California near Joshua Tree National Park. I did it for several reasons: 1) My fiance and I really enjoy the desert and the cost was low (or so it seemed at the time) 2) I expected I could Airbnb the place when not using it and, if not profit, at least break even 3) It was all I could afford (or at least I thought I could afford it at the time). The cabin itself turned out really cool and it rents for around $250 a night on weekends. I use a local management company that takes 30% off the top of the Airbnb income, because I can't really do it remotely. 

Anyway, the purchase price was about $40k and I ended up spending about $100k on top of that because it needed everything. I really went overboard (being new at this sorta thing) and probably overpaid for goods and services.  After everything was said and done, I was able to do a cash-out refi last year for about $95k with a conventional mortgage, and I consolidated the rest of my debt with a short-term personal loan. I now owe about what it appraised for ($145k) and my carrying costs are way higher than what it's bringing in after expenses.