Landlord is trying to kick me out tomorrow

27 Replies

Hi all,

I am an RE investor and have a rental property in Wisconsin, but I currently rent from a landlord in New Jersey and reside there. I do not have a written agreement. It is month-to-month and I haven't paid a security deposit because she never asked for one. I've been living in the house for 10 months and the landlord lives there as well. She is showing extreme aggression and is very unstable. She has no viable reason to kick me out, but she's upset that I left a light on and she argued with me about it one night through a text conversation, so she's still upset about that. Where can I find info about my rights? Can she legally have me removed from the property tomorrow? She hasn't served me an eviction.

@Corbin Jones

Check out your state's website!

https://www.state.nj.us/dca/divisions/codes/offices/landlord_tenant_information.html

While I'm not a lawyer, my understanding in Wisconsin is that you'd be "protected" based on the verbal rental agreement, but that becomes messy quickly in a 'he said she said' situation. As my sales instructor drilled over and over again: ALWAYS GET YOUR LEASES IN WRITING, even short term month to month agreements. Wishing you lots of luck! 🤞🤞

If you lived at my house and left a light on I would send you packing in a nano second .   

You must have done something else , dribbled on the toilet seat . Not flushed after number 2 . Did you forget to put the cap back on the toothpaste ? 

A process has to be gone through on any eviction. Read the link provided above. And do move out ASAP. Crazy landlord is never good. And next time LEASE IN WRITING.

No lease? You are month-to-month? Thirty days' notice and you need to vacate. You take a huge risk not having a signed Lease to protect you, especially in an owner-occupied property. Being a real estate investor, you should know better. And you have an amateur landlord.