Friend becoming a Tenant

44 Replies

Hey guys!

Wondering if I can get some feedback. My fiance and I are brand new investors and we've decided to house hack our 3 bedroom house. My first tenant who is also my friend  will be moving in at the end of the month. This is my first time doing this. Should I print out a generic landlord tenant form online? or do I need get an attorney to make a specialized contract? If so how much do attorneys normally charge for something like this and where is the best place to look for one? Also any tips in general for managing a friend who will become a tenant is most helpful! Thank you!

Originally posted by @Dale Abella :

Hey guys!

Wondering if I can get some feedback. My fiance and I are brand new investors and we've decided to house hack our 3 bedroom house. My first tenant who is also my friend  will be moving in at the end of the month. This is my first time doing this. Should I print out a generic landlord tenant form online? or do I need get an attorney to make a specialized contract? If so how much do attorneys normally charge for something like this and where is the best place to look for one? Also any tips in general for managing a friend who will become a tenant is most helpful! Thank you!

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no. Do not rent to friends. Don't do it dude.

Hi @Dale Abella .

I wouldn't over-analyze this scenario.  As @Sara C. pointed out with the BP leases above; that should suffice.

I never had my friends on leases because you hoped there is a level of respect between each other.  Friendship first; which might require them moving out before the 'lease' to preserve the friendship.

Also, be prepared when your friend has questions about the lease.  "Do you not trust me? I thought we were friends. This isn't a business.  Etc."  Make sure you explain why a lease is important and how it protects both parties.