Dealing with evictions

9 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I'm curious to get feedback from other investors who have had to deal with evictions of someone you did not put in the house to begin with.  I have a flip I'm looking at that currently has a tenant in there who will need to be evicted.  The seller wants to sell "sight unseen".  On paper I have vetted the numbers, they all make sense.  However, I have heard that evictions can be long and time-consuming.  I'm new to this so I don't know how big or not a big deal an eviction is.  If this were your deal, would you offer less if the house comes with a tenant that needs to be removed?  If so, how much less do you offer?  Would you stay away from the deal altogether?  I'd love different perspectives on this. Especially from those who have experience with the scenario.

Evictions are different per area of the country.

Before considering doing an eviction and messing up someones credit or background check, I would have a conversation with the tenant who is getting caught up in this and explain the situation. Give them a reasonable date they need to be out maybe offer cash for keys. They leave on time and leave the house empty in exchange for some amount of money. This will benefit everyone and be faster than an eviction.

Now to the buying sight unseen. That is fine but you have to factor in worse case on the house and the offer has to account for that. I'm sure they are trying to not upset the tenant by letting them know the house might be sold.

Ask if you can see the house under the premise that you are part of an annual inspection or something similar. That way you don't upset the current tenant until the house actually sells.

Then treat the tenant with respect and work out a reasonable solution for them to have time to find a new place to live. This does not mean filing an eviction on an unsuspecting tenant and blind siding them with this.

An eviction in Texas will take +-21 So it is not a long process