Great potential tenant but cant move in for a month?

22 Replies

Found A extremely well qualified tenant but he can't move in until the 15th of September. Do I take his deposit and let it sit empty? Do I offer him the place but only if he signs and pays from September 1st? or do I just keep looking?  I've have 15 people call and probably 8 view the house most of them not meeting the income requirements.  

About me,  I have 5 rentals but I bought them all this year and most of them had tenants in place so this is my first time dealing with filling the door. 

@Tyler Flagg   I guess it depends on whether or not you think you can rent it to someone else.  I'd tell them that is fine, but it is from Sept 1.  Get a non-refundable deposit that upon move in, go to the security deposit.  Tell them by having it from the 1st will also allow them more time to move in.

I charge one months rent up front for deposit. What does your old lease say for the last tenant? Does the new tenant have pets? By the way, it is not rented until you have money and a lease in hand. Keep showing it until that happens even if it is an hour before the lease signing. If this tenant is as good as you say then they will have options and keep you on the line as back up. 

@Tyler Labelle congratulations on securing those 5 rentals all this year, and for getting him to agree to start on the 1st. That's a major move right there. If you need any help with trying to bring a certain level of automation to your rental process (ie. now that you have a lease signed and he's paid the deposit, you can make things easier by collecting rent online and automate some of that maintenance request process); additionally, there are definitely tools out there to make managing all 5 rentals super easy. Would be happy to answer any questions you might have.