Pay It Off vs Keep the Loan

7 Replies

I am just beginning to invest and through discussion with friends there's always the talk of "having to pay it off ASAP".  I was wondering thoughts from BP People.  Is it better to keep the debt as long as someone is paying it? Or should we pay them off "ASAP"??

Thanks and I hope everyone is having in incredible investing journey!

If you are growing your portfolio it is my opinion to funnel your cash towards expansion. With the cost of one payoff you could purchase 2 or 3 more units and increase cash flow as well as equity. When you build up the number of units closer to your goal, you can start paying them down.

Hey @Keith Carey

If you have a property that is from a lender and the property is creating income for you, don't call it debt, you should call it leverage. This leverage will be able to help you pursue your financial goals.

As far as paying it off ASAP or the longer way, on your beginnings of REI, I would try to buy as many properties you are comfortable with. This will gain you invaluable experience of the process and numbers while diversifying your portfolio.

It depends, it always depends. What are your goals with not just the property but your REI in general?

Like @Joe C. said if you are planning on expanding your portfolio than having cash on hand to buy more properties is more important than paying off debt, “leveraged asset”.

Maybe you have a low tolerance for risk or don’t like to have any debt, if that’s the case, slow and steady and pay off the property and move on to the next one when you are comfortable.  

I’ve learned very quickly there is no actual wrong answer to this question, because each person asking the question is completely different experiences and desires.