"Owner" doesnt own rental

63 Replies

Ive been staying in this house for over 18 months. Recently did a search and found the taxes (up til 2 years ago) was paid for by a finance company, then they quit paying them. I tried to find info on this company to possibly buy the house, or atleast find out more info.  Found out this company was merged with CitiFinancial.  Cant seem to get a hold of anyone with a clue.  The guy who claims he owns the house is and never has been on any paperwork ive found on the house. Im afraid to pay the taxes, then have the house taken.  Ive looked at adverse possession, but not sure what steps i should take... "color of title" and all that. IMO this was an abandoned house.

Yes... the supposed "owner" is not the owner.  He doesn't own the house at all.  His name is on NONE of the paperwork, nor has he paid taxes on the house at any time.  But as i stated, i can not get ahold of anyone from the actual firm that owns it.  There address listed is now owned by another unrelated company, the phone number is disconnected.  They merged with citifinancial, and cant get ahold of any one from there that knows what im talking about.  Its like the property got lost in limbo and this loser took advantage.

Im just afraid to take "ownership", pay taxes, file any docs, then the original firm comes by and says "hey... get out", but at this point in time, seeing as i cant contact anyone from the original financial firm, dont see any other option.  The financial firm is on record of ownership from 1999 to date.  Although they havent paid taxes on property for 2 years now.