Finding Tenants for new property

3 Replies

Hi Everyone-

I’m a new investor. A few weeks ago I closed on my first duplex and I’m looking to house hack. I will be living in the smaller downstairs unit while renting out the upstairs which is a large 3 bed 2 full baths.

The unit itself is very clean (I painted, installed new mini blinds, cleaned up the landscaping, and added some improvements). The house has off street parking, free laundry, private backyard, all for the tenants.

However after a few showings no one seems to be biting...I’m listed at 1500 which is appropriate for my areA. I think it’s value is 1600-1700 but given it isn’t peak rental season I wanted to get someone in quickly before winter so I went with lower rent.

My sister is a photographer and recently took all new pics (after the remodeling)- I’m hoping the new pics will attract more tenants.

As I’m brand new to this I was hoping to get some advice? I’m trying not to get discouraged and find the right tenants. Any thoughts/advice would be great. Thank you in advance.

John T.

@John Tarricone welcome to BP. I use Zillow and Apartments.com really good response but tons of unqualifieds even when you state your requirements in the ad. I find showings to be a waste of time unless they have are pre screened via phone and email; just because they want to see it is not reason enough. If you don't have it filled in a few weeks you may need to re-think your rent number. All the best!

Originally posted by @John Tarricone :

Hi Everyone-

I’m a new investor. A few weeks ago I closed on my first duplex and I’m looking to house hack. I will be living in the smaller downstairs unit while renting out the upstairs which is a large 3 bed 2 full baths.

The unit itself is very clean (I painted, installed new mini blinds, cleaned up the landscaping, and added some improvements). The house has off street parking, free laundry, private backyard, all for the tenants.