property manager does not do lease

5 Replies

On my first property this year. I went with this particular property manager because she returned my calls, (where other big names in the area did not), and had 15 years experience. I thought I needed help screening tenants, as I'm new to the business. 

Property Manager did not advertise condo a few month backs so I advertised and find tenant, but property manager does not do lease so tenant is moving out after only three months. Do I ask to do lease or go with the way she likes to do things, since she has more experience? 

Second question, she also likes to do all inclusive, stating that is the way renter like it in this area. ( I figured out, she also gets bigger fee, since its on pay collected).  I do not like paying other peoples utilities though, but was told my property would sit on the market if I did not go all inclusive. 

I have a year contract with this property manager, do I need different one, or just asked often about different tenant to encourage advertisement and advertise it again myself, and shop for different property manager until my contact ends? 

It is foolish to have no lease.   The lease governs the relationship between tenant and landlord.   If the tenant does not pay, how do you evict?  How do you sue for damages if they destroy your house? 

You need a new property manager.     Don't waste any more time with this one.

Regarding all inclusive (aka "All Bills Paid") she might be correct.  The easiest way to find out is to mystery shop other properties in the area.  Call as if you were a tenant seeking a rental and see what they say. 

PS Ask if you can move in without a lease too!

@Ginger Schmidt

So property manager did not find any tenant for you in a few months,

You decided to find one on your own and you did it!

Then property manager Essentially kick out said tenant cuss it was a lease and not All Inclusive,