How do you use SOPs?

16 Replies

My day job involves launching and operating satellites, so SOPs are near and dear to my heart. We basically don’t go to the bathroom without a procedure.

I am still new to real estate investing as a landlord, currently self-managing 1 single-family rental. I have written 4 SOPs (making offers, listings & showings, tenant screening, and turnover). Most of their content comes from experienced investors' lessons learned shared here in the forums, and Brandon's book on managing rental properties. I've definitely pulled off the road during a podcast to jot down notes too.

So, how many SOPs do you use in your business? How often do you review and update them? What is an example of an event that caused you to?

SOPs are Standard Operating Procedures.

Basically they are a way to write down exactly how to do something so that one can repeat it consistently and, potentially, give it to someone else to follow so that they do it the way you want it done.

IMHO it is a very smart idea to write SOPs in any business where procedures are repeated.

@April Adams

@Chris Buhler ’s got it - a set of step by step instructions on how you accomplish each aspect of your business. So that eventually some or all of it could be outsourced. Another benefit is to take the mental legwork out of repetitive tasks. Some investors use email templates similarly. Being new, I feel like I am updating mine pretty regularly. The power of good SOPs comes from getting bit (or learning from those who have) and incorporating lessons learned.