Buying homes for cash

133 Replies

Hello all. I have never purchased a house and I am about to. I plan on purchasing rental properties with cash from $15k to $40k. What I was curious about is the closing cost of these types of homes, is it really on 3%. The homes that I am catering to is outside the city, but not denying myself to inside the city. Also, any advice for investors in baltimore would be great. I am new to all of this so any advice is appreciated. 

Originally posted by @Kiel Martin :

Hello all. I have never purchased a house and I am about to. I plan on purchasing rental properties with cash from $15k to $40k. What I was curious about is the closing cost of these types of homes, is it really on 3%. The homes that I am catering to is outside the city, but not denying myself to inside the city. Also, any advice for investors in baltimore would be great. I am new to all of this so any advice is appreciated. 

$15-40k in cash? Hello 2015 🤣  You're talking either severely depressed areas, war zones, or houses that just about need demolishing for that kind of money in 2021. Use the money as your 20% on a better quality home - you'll never be sorry you did.

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

I would talk to your Mortgage broker and title company. In talking with my MB he said that on the lower priced properties they may have a minimum charge for certain aspects of closing. 

@Nicholas L. Total purchase price will be $15k to $40k. I am loooking for houses where I do not carry a mortage, which is the foundation of my business I am starting. This is why I was curious about the 3% for closing cost for those price ranges. I have a huge feeling it will be alot more than 3% for these prices.