CBIZ vs. Proper Insurance

42 Replies

Does anyone endorse CBIZ vs. Proper?  The policies seem pretty similar.

I was recently asked by an insurance agent whether I wanted a Commercial business policy or a traditional one, which I think is what you're asking. The agent advised I take the more expensive commercial policy. I declined, and instead got a personal umbrella policy in addition to the standard policy.  My reasoning is a single umbrella will provide extra protection for multiple properties which will be cheaper than getting a commercial policy on each property. I'm new at this, so would love to hear what other people think.

@Tim Schroeder CBIZ and Proper are insurance programs that specialize in insuring Airbnb and vacation rental properties.

@Sara Abernethy the management team @ Proper came from CBIZ.  Proper has a few additional endorsements that outperform the CBIZ policy.   You would need to talk with them to see if these endorsements apply to your particular situation and specific property.

I have never heard any complaints from either program.

@Tim Schroeder . Hi Tim!  I have a commercial policy for my long-term rentals (they call it a "landlord policy" informally), and I have an umbrella policy.  This policy is for my short-term vacation rental.  Most policies won't cover me if they uncover that I'm doing short-term rentals.  CBIZ and Prosper specifically write their policies to cover these types of rentals.  

@Jason Bott That's helpful - what do you mean by endorsements?  Would it be safe to say that the Proper team left CBIZ to create a superior product??  Or they just wanted to write the same policy and keep more of the $?

Originally posted by @Jason Bott :

@Tim Schroeder CBIZ and Proper are insurance programs that specialize in insuring Airbnb and vacation rental properties.