Short Term Rental Resources Needed

10 Replies

Hi, I'm totally new to the game, but would like to learn more about buying an investment property to be used as a short term rental. Does anyone know some good resources for learning that niche? This would not be in what is considered a vacation hot spot, probably more geared to a business traveler.

One specific question I have is how to research the city codes to make sure I'd be in compliance.  I'm thinking about along the 400N corridor, Sandy Springs/Roswell/Alpharetta area.  Does anyone have info on these areas specifically? 

Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by @Jessica Freese:

One specific question I have is how to research the city codes to make sure I'd be in compliance.  I'm thinking about along the 400N corridor, Sandy Springs/Roswell/Alpharetta area.  Does anyone have info on these areas specifically?  

Thanks in advance.

I read a couple books off of Amazon before getting started. I think The Vacation Rental Goldmine (https://smile.amazon.com/Vacation-Rental-Goldmine-...) and it helped me quite a bit.

In terms of city codes, I would be very careful to make sure you get into an area that is already supportive of STRs. There are a lot of places that are starting to ban them. I am in two markets that are very supportive of STRs so we have to be licensed as a hotel and collect sales tax. If they have sales tax structure setup for STR's, you're probably in good shape. If they don't, they are behind the curve and you are gambling that when they do get caught up that it might not be in your favor.

Good luck!

Buy bank foreclosure houses in a small town with a large industry.