Converting properties to LLC

6 Replies

Hi All, 

Just like many of you, I am new to BP. I have two rental properties in California on my name and one thing on my mind is liability. What does the process look like if I want to convert the rental units to be owned by an LLC? Where can I find some more information? Is it a problem if one of the properties I have was acquired using a 1031 exchange? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks, 

Rudy

@Rudy T.

There are several considerations that can go into the analysis of whether you need an LLC or whether a large insurance policy will suffice. Will depend on several factors like the type of property, type of tenants, your risk tolerance, other assets you own, your estate planning, laws where the property is located, etc.

Any lawsuits would be limited to the assets of the LLC and not your personal assets (assuming you run the LLC appropriately and the corporate veil is not pierced). But, an LLC will not limit you from liability in total. You can still lose your investment in the LLC. If you're going the umbrella insurance route, make sure it will cover you for several things including just the routine slip and fall (like mold or earthquake). You'll also want to ensure you have a good property manager to look after the upkeep of the property if you are not there to notice anything deteriorating or which may need attention.

Creating an LLC in California would cost you a minimum tax of $800 every year. You would have ongoing filing requirements with the State and would need to keep business records and documentation. If you create an LLC, you will need a business account. Otherwise, if you hold them in your personal name you do not need a business account.