House Hacking in San Diego

16 Replies

Hey guys,

Has anyone house hacked in San Diego (preferably in neighborhoods as north as Encinitas to as south as downtown)? I'm looking to hear about your experiences! 

I'm just getting started myself, learning the number game and reading up as much as I can about real estate. I'm a mechanical engineer full-time and enjoy my job but realize that real estate is a solid investment vehicle if done properly... 

Would love to hear from working professionals who pulled off a house-hack in their spare time - what did you learn? what would you do differently? who helped you the most?

Thanks!

Hey Trevor - I did some version of it with my condo in Encinitas by renting out the other room for a few years.  I was able to get solid demand for $1000-$1100 for a private room and bathroom. I'm about 2 miles from the beach for reference.  Nothing like the returns a multi-family will get you but the price point/availability for those is quite steep unless you want to look inland.

Kind of depends on your situation - your personal finances, your tolerability for multiple roommates, condition of the home, time frame, etc...

I'm also a mech engineer working in SD - PM me and we can chat in more detail

I started out house hacking long ago (before I ever heard of the term) in Claremont by renting. An extra bedroom.   My “tenants” helped me make my mortgage payment.  

This type of house hacking is best done when you are young.  It provides a advantage that can be leveraged for future success.  

With that future success, other options will present themselves.   

Originally posted by @Dan Heuschele :

I started out house hacking long ago (before I ever heard of the term) in Claremont by renting. An extra bedroom.   My “tenants” helped me make my mortgage payment.  

This type of house hacking is best done when you are young.  It provides a advantage that can be leveraged for future success.