Networking during the pandemic

15 Replies

I'm wondering how everyone is networking during the pandemic! I know a lot of standard practices like open houses are changing to be zoom walk-throughs or digital meetings but I'm just starting out with REI and I'd like to be able to meet new people and form relationships with like-minded individuals. I see a lot of old posts suggesting meetups but I don't anticipate those being as lucrative of an idea post-covid-19 so just looking for alternative/safe ways to get myself out there!

Some of the meetups have zoom meetings. A Few of the meetups have break out sessions during the meeting and you can talk to a smaller group of say 4 to 6 people. So Cal wise, FIBI has zoom meetings, I forget if there were break out groups; LAREIA has zoom meetings and breakouts. IEREIC has zoom meetings.

Even some multifamily meetups have zoom meetings with break out groups. A Lot of the syndication for MF are definitely looking for investors after the stock market hiccups where I am sure they got plenty of people around 2008.

@Mary Seo

Most people switched to virtual networking. We for example host a virtual meetup, and I know many others do. You can find plenty via meetup site. 

@Mary Seo - As @Alina Trigub mentioned, most of the in-person groups have switched over to virtual MeetUps through Zoom. Outside of the online events that local REIA's are hosting, it's also a great time to jump into local Facebook Groups and engage there. A few that I'm involved with go live and host Friday Happy Hours or Lunch and Learns that have served as a great light and fun way to connect and stay engaged.

For forming the relationship -- shoot those few people you want to connect further with a private message and schedule a follow-up call.  I think one of the silver linings in our current situation is that people are more willing (and available) to make new connections!

@Mary Seo