New member in Milwaukee

20 Replies

I recently joined BP after having been enjoying the benefits of great information and discussion across the site.  My background is in retail banking and I've since moved to a management role at a fintech firm but I'm interested in getting involved with real estate investing.  

I'm new to REI but have been working to rapidly grow my knowledge through reading a variety of books, attending webinars, meeting experienced investors, analyzing deals, and finding advice on the BP forums. I started building my knowledge base by reading a number of books about REI in general, landlording, and deal analysis, but have since shifted focus in an effort to learn more specifically about my local market.

The area that interests me the most is affordable housing for low-income individuals.  I'd like to be able to strike a good balance between making rent affordable for tenants while also earning a fair profit.  It certainly seems like there are plenty of challenges in this area (limited appreciation, troubled tenants, evictions, deferred maintenance, Section 8, etc.) but it is still something I'd like to pursue.

I'd love to hear advice from folks in the BP community on their experiences not just with affordable housing but with REI in general. I've been able to learn a great deal from forum posts but am always open to advice and hearing more about the experiences of others!