Newbie from Bakersfield, CA

17 Replies

Hello All,

I was thrilled to find this community while doing a search of print resources for REI. My life has changed already since I decided to truly engage in learning to invest in RE only a few months ago. I can tell after reading some of the blogs and listening to a podcast that bigger pockets is an excellent place to be if you want to be involved in REI. I Iook forward to learning about all aspects of buy and hold and possibly flips (which I tried previously without great success - didn't have the right formula I guess). Financing is a subject I find particularly daunting, though my day job is in accounting support. Loans are a whole new animal, but I am determined to make the whole process second nature! I look forward to being involved in BP!

@Rachael Collins  

Welcome. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

Welcome to BP community @Rachael Collins   It is a great place to meet new friends and learn about various aspects of real estate and more. Here are a few recommendations for you: