Intro: Newbie from Durham, NC

11 Replies

Hi,

This place is great!  I've enjoyed reading the forums and guides and listening to the podcasts.  My family and I live in Durham, NC where we've resided since the late nineties (including stints in Chapel Hill and Raleigh, maybe one day we'll make it to Cary!).  

We have always been aggressive savers using a prudent but not risk averse investment strategy in the markets. I'm a working professional (ok wage slave) but my wife runs an unrelated business. We've always wanted to add REI to our portfolio (for returns, diversification and entrepreneurial pursuits).

We have specific objectives:

1. Cashflow before taxes high enough to amortize loans in 10-15 years.

2. Build a portfolio that yields inflation adjusted income of ~ $8k per month AFTER mortgages are paid off.

These objectives will help us identify potential properties.  Of course the expectation is that some properties will under perform, others may over perform (just like any other diversified portfolio).

Looking forward to chatting with you!

Thanks!

@Greg P.  

Welcome. Build the legacy. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 80 past ones to catch up on.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.