Where to start?

18 Replies

Im new to the BiggerPockets platformand im exited to be a member with all the good reports ive heard about it. Im interested in becoming a full time realestate investor in Northwest Indiana and Chicago. Im doing a lot of studying on the subject but just would like to hear from some investors that are actually in the trenches . I want to get my investment business off the ground, setting up my company, websight, etc;. Being a self employed contractor the last 5 years i have a lot of knowledge in the rehabbing field, but the investing side is a whole new world,any suggestions?

Hi Albert -

Welcome to the community and good luck in your adventure!

A couple of suggestions:

1. Read all the "Free How To Guides" found on Bigger pockets (BP menu bar Learn -> Free How to Guides)

2. Start listening to the Bigger pockets podcasts from episode #1 until you are caught up...maybe a goal of 2 podcasts a week?

2. Join your local REIA & network with like minded people

3. Identify others in your area from Bigger pockets and network with them

Since you probably are more comfortable on the construction side of the business, it probably make sense to learn about

• How to identifying potential properties (MLS, direct mail marketing, online marketing, driving for dollars etc. etc.)
  • Communication skills for interacting with sellers 
  • Analyzing a potential investment

I think you can find everything you need on this website. Good luck and keep us posted!

Originally posted by @Albert R. :

I want to get my investment business off the ground, setting up my company, websight, etc;.

Getting the mechanics set-up is necessary, but don't get hung up on it.  It does not have to be perfect when you first get started.  It is much more important to get out and do your business.