New to REI from Massachusetts

7 Replies

Greetings!

My name is Scott and I live on the North Shore of Boston, MA. I'm fairly new to real estate investing as I have been renting out a single-family house for about 1.5 years. I'm in my mid-30's, work full time as an engineer, and I am married with 4 kids.

My goal right now is just to learn how to play the real estate "game", and try to figure out which deals make the most sense to me and my family. I would like to buy a vacation home that I can also earn $$ with as rental property. I also have a big mortgage decision to make on my current rental property, which I may end up selling in a couple of years.

Hopefully, I can learn quickly and find the answers with the help of the experts in this forum.

Scott

Despite your inexperience, you're ahead of many of the people here. How is operating your rental property going? Have you learned a lot being a landlord?

The "Game" can be learned and you're at the place to do it! Good luck with you real estate.

What kind of engineer are you, BTW?

Thanks for the reply, ToneyJ.

Regarding my rental property, I really lucked out with my tenants. They are a family of 4 whom I have known previously. They are very responsible (so far) and have taken care of the property like it was their own. Although this is a great situation, it has not taught me much about being a landlord. Sometimes I even forget I am a landlord until the rent check arrives :D .

My tenants plan to rent from me for 2 more years, but I am at a point where I either need to sell or remortgage. I am at the end of the 3rd year of a 3/1 ARM, and my interest rate will increase from 4.125% to 6.125%. The best 3/1 ARM's I can currently get are around 6% APR, so it looks like I'm stuck for this year.