New Member from Palmdale, CA

14 Replies

I'm 23 years old and a recent graduate from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) with my B.A. in Economics. I'm currently pursuing my Salesperson License but also want to start building my real estate portfolio! I'm interested in buy and hold as I'm in it for the long-haul. I've interned with a commercial real estate investment firm in L.A. and taken a Real Estate Finance & Investments course in college. I also help my dad out with the property management of his rental home.

As you can tell, I'm just getting started in the industry and have a long way to go. However, real estate investing is what really excites me and I look forward to learning and sharing my experiences with you all!

John Steele and Ali Boone : Thank you both for welcoming me to BP! I appreciate it. Being that you, John, are based in San Diego, and you, Ali, are familiar with the Antelope Valley, what are your thoughts on first time investors investing in Southern California? Specifically house-hacking, as that is what I consider the most viable option for me to get started. In my opinion houses are just a bit overpriced right now and the rent-to-value ratio in our region isn't that great to begin with. Any thoughts/suggestions?

@Luis Mendoza

Welcome to BP! According to Aaron Norris, a very well respected SoCal forecaster, reports there are still deals in the AV so you are in luck. You can build long-term profits right in your own backyard. Keep in mind rent to price is one factor, for long-term holds other fundamental factors come into play. Good luck!

http://www.zillow.com/research/landlord-profit-7357/

@Luis Mendoza