New guy in Richmond, VA

14 Replies

Hey everyone!

I recently stumbled upon Bigger Pockets through some random web searches on real estate, and decided to jump in after seeing BP articles come up over and over again. I'm still fairly new to the site, although I've already read through a ton of content and listened to a lot of the podcasts. I actually live in Charlottesville and drive to Richmond everyday for work, so those that know the area know that I have a lot of time to catch up on the podcasts. I am likely looking to move (with my wife) to Richmond sometime in the next 3-6 months.

I am totally new to the REI game, but see a lot of potential in real estate as a long-term wealth builder. For now, I am trying to absorb all of the info I can, but am probably not in the position to buy an investment-only property. My first step will likely be to buy our first home to live in for a couple of years while improving it so that we have the option to sell, rent, or stay (and look for another investment property).

Ideally, I would find an agent in the area that really understands real estate investing, since I want to find a place that is good for my wife and I to live in for now but would also be a sound investment if we decide to go that route. Any recommendations would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance for anyone who takes the time to read and/or respond!

@Jason King welcome to BP and RVA.

I believe as you learn more here on the site- and by reading "The Book on Investing in Real Estate with No and Low Money Down" by @Brandon Turner you will realize you are not as limited as you think in your ability to acquire your first investment property.

Stay persistent and take action. Those are the keys. Feel free to contact me anytime.