New investor from Austin, Tx

5 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets!

I'm a beginner, 25 years old and living in Austin, Tx. I've been lurking: reading the forums, blogs, and listening to podcasts for a few months now and have finally mustered up the courage to introduce myself.

In the past couple of weeks I've partnered up with another new investor and we are bird dogging for a couple of reputable local investors. We just completed our first round of door knocking the foreclosure list. We knocked on >50 doors, talked to about 10-15 people. We had one strong lead, which unfortunately doesn't look like it's going to pan out. All in all it was a good experience and I'm still driven to keep up the marketing. It looks like this next time around we're going to tighten down our marketing area and expand our strategies.

My biggest personal/business goal is to get past my shyness (my partner has done most of the speaking). My july goal: get at least one bird dog deal done and start learning how to do these deals! I'm looking forward to learning more by doing and getting feedback from our mentors and the BiggerPockets community along the way!

Cheers!

@Laura Robertson

Welcome! It's awesome that you've started birddogging - never done it myself, but I'm sure it'll be a great learning experience. You are already ahead of 95% of people who never take that first step. And don't look at your shyness as a handicap - it's an asset. Think of it as the opposite of pushy, obnoxious and loud :-) I'm sure you'll find it easier to talk to people once you put a few deals under your belt.

@Laura Robertson

Laura, we have a lot of great MeetUps in Austin and the easiest way to monetize your efforts is to meet a lot of local investors and build relationships. Go to MeetUp.com and search for real estate investment meetings.  I will PM you about my MeetUp which is on the 4th Tuesday of each month...except this month since I will be on vacation.  

@Laura Robertson

Welcome.