Foreclosure advice

7 Replies

I know a party who's home is in foreclosure and may be interested in getting rid of the property. My question is how should I approach this party about my interest in buying their home? Who do I talk to? Once that is established, how should I or do I purchase the home? I have some money saved up, my credit is not bad, and my wife and i currently own a home that is our primary residence. I am new to the real estate business so I don't want to screw up and lose out on my first possible deal. ADVICE PLEASE!!!

@Ricardo Camacho

Yes, you should contact the potential seller and vet them properly. Find out if they want to sell, how much they owe, how far behind they are, etc. Then you will need to determine what the fair market value of the property is and how much in repairs it will require, before you can suggest a course of action. 

If they owe more on the home than it is worth, you will need to look at doing a potential short sale. If the property has a bit of equity in it, but not enough to make selling worth it, you may be able to pay existing back payments and refinance or get the mortgage assigned / subject to (if possible). If there is substantial equity, their best move is probably just to sell.

-Christopher

@Ricardo Camacho