Newbie from Bradenton FL

6 Replies

Hi everyone! I am not really a newbie to BP since I joined last March, but I never introduced myself so it is about time!

I have lived here in the Bradenton/Sarasota FL area since the 60s so it is very much home to me. I have worked in the I.T. industry for over 30 years now but just this week I "retired" from the job I have had for the last 20 years. However, since I have a young one who is just starting school, I am definitely not really retired yet.

So now what do I do? Go find another tech job or start my new RE related career? I think the answer should be obvious to most of you. Now the question is, how do I pull this off?

I have been listening to the pod casts since joining and I have learned so much. I have also read J. Scott's excellent books among others. So, since I need income fairly quickly, I am going to start a flipping business. I have gotten a pretty good start on a business plan but I need to fill in some blanks so I will most likely be posting some questions and I am sure I will get some great answers from the community.

Looking forward to the next chapter in my life and the sure to be great relationships I will develop on the journey.

Nice to meet you all,

Dennis Hertzler

@Dennis Hertzler

Welcome.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

@Dennis Hertzler