New member- Norfolk Va

27 Replies

New member from Norfolk, Virginia area. My name is Walter and I am active duty military stationed out of Norfolk. I have a few years left on active service where I will be trying to balance furthering my real estate knowledge as well as setting myself up for exfil out of the Navy. 

I am brand new to the real estate industry. As a matter of fact im scheduling my PSI two weeks from now, but I hear often that real estate is a great field with many opportunities. My goals are simply to build myself up by being well educated in my realm of real estate and set myself up for a business plan if all goes accordingly. I'm not into limiting myself but I would see myself fitting into either a Rental or Buy and Hold type of investing. 

I believe that's more than enough, but I do welcome and encourage questions. Anything that can help build and prepare me for the road ahead couldn't hurt and I thank you for it. I look forward to networking and getting to know everybody along the way. 

I highly recommend at @Walter Boyd that you find someone in your area who you look up to and message them. I found a real mentor here on Biggerpockets and this took me from knowing nothing to actually doing deals. I also suggest that you spend as much time here on biggerpockets and listening to the podcasts. I listen to them almost everyday-still!

The whole world is at your fingertips and you just need to take action. Just do it as they say. You will learn more by doing than by "thinking about doing". Align yourself with someone you trust and the rest will fall into place. Good luck!