New to forums from Cincinnati Ohio

16 Replies

Hello,

I'm Derek Smith and I live in Cincinnati Ohio.

I currently have two rental houses and am looking to keep adding to my portfolio, whether it's more SFR, multi family's, or commercial.

I have a corporate job, working in corporate strategy and finance. I've lead teams through the study and approval of $100M projects, but still find it scary to push through deals when it's my own money and financial security on the line.

I'm looking for opportunities to meet like minded people in Cincinnati/ NKY. I've looked at the local REIA, but am rather turned off by it as they seem to always be selling/pushing something.

Anyone have experience with the Cincinnati REIA who can share their opinion? Good?Bad?

Thank you,

Derek

Hi Derek,

I am a licensed realtor and from the Cincinnati area (eastside) too. We are currently focusing on fix and flips and sold our only rental this spring. I had the same experience with REIA as it appears that you did and I did not renew my membership this year. Good luck on your real estate adventure and let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Hey @Derek Smith ,

My experience with the local REIA is similar to that of yours and @Amy Braden , as I didn't renew my membership this year either. I think there was some value in the pre-meeting networking, but once the sales pitch began, I would usually leave.

I've found more networking opportunities, partners, investors, clients, etc. through BP than anywhere else thus far. There is a newer meetup organized by @Joe Fairless here in CIncy that may be worth looking into. I wasn't able to attend the first one, but have heard good things.

Reach out if I can help with anything else and good luck!