New to Knoxville

17 Replies

Hi Everyone!

I have never heard of this place before, so I am excited to check it out and see what I can find.  I just moved to the area from Charlotte and so far I love it here! I am a young, part time investor...as I am also going to Pharmacy School.  That being said, I hope to meet some like-minded people and build a network of friends.  Off I go!

John Murphy Welcome to Knoxville, TN. Football season is upon us , and the town really goes wild for Tennessee Vols! I have season tickets myself :) I've met a few other investors in town. Everyone is great. There is a REIA meeting 2nd Tues of the month at Holiday Inn, Cedar Bluff. Great place to meet more REI investors offline. I'm still learning and getting my feet wet to speak. Hope to tackle my first flip by the end of the year. Also check out the webinars here from Brandon Turner. They are great. Let me and everyone else here know if we can help you in any way.

Payton provided some good info. Knoxville is a nice place to live so welcome. Feel to reach out about local investing our the if you need/want any Knoxville community info. 

Hi John. Welcome to the area. I am pretty new to BP and Payton has been kind to help me with some details about this site. I hope to meet you at the next REI meeting.

@John Murphy

My 3 tips for using this site are participate in the forums ( asking and answering ?'s, sharing your experiences ), networking with locals and others, and listen to the Podcast (under Learn ) and Webinars (under Resources ).

Quick tip #1. Type the "@" and the 1st 3 letters of someone you want to personally address.. ie - check out your name at the top of this post.

#2. Go to https://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts to setup keyword alerts to let you know when someone has mentioned something interesting to you. I have my city and my name on alert so far.