Out of State Investor

5 Replies

I'm a software developer, drummer, rock climber, and skier. I have a triplex and I just fired Renters Warehouse for being awful. I'm looking to have some friends manage the property while I'm out of state and I'm wondering what kind of pitfalls to watch out for and where to find resources for things like 24hour emergency service in Minneapolis.

The main problem I had with RW was handling maintenance requests. The tenant would call it in, they'd email me and offer an estimate. That much always went smoothly. Then once I responded, things would start to suck. If I used their preferred vendors, I was usually spending top dollar on these repairs, often with a $100 trip fee, and I would not be notified when the job was complete. If I used my own vendor, RW refused to coordinate between the vendor and tenant.

When a tenant was late on their rent, RW would send me an email telling me so, but they would not specify which unit it was or which tenant, and in a triplex situation, that was really difficult to deal with.

They have such high turnover at their office in MN that I would save a number in my phone for the maintenance coordinator and call back a month later and someone else would answer and say that that person didn't work here anymore. Also on maintenance requests, week by week, different people were answering questions on the tickets and hadn't read/didn't know the history of the ticket, let alone what work had been done the previous month, so I would get duplicate requests for something I had already told them I was fixing with my vendor with whom they refused to coordinate the work...