New member Rhode Island

6 Replies

Hello BP community,

My name is William Campbell. I am a 19 year old looking to get started in investing real estate. I am a college student living in North Kingstown, RI. I have no past experience, but have been learning from the podcast and reading post for the past few months. I am looking into house hacking for my first deal, but my goal is to start obtaining properties for the BRRRR method and to fix and flip.

Thanks in advance,

William

Hi @William Campbell

Welcome to BiggerPockets - it's great to see more folks deciding to get into REI!

I'd encourage you to reach out to more experienced investors in your area! There is no substitute for being physically present with experienced investors.

Let me know if you need any help finding other resources to help you get started!

William:

Good afternoon, and welcome to BP! As you start this new endeavor, I would HIGHLY recommend sitting down with a mortgage/financial professional (there's no charge) and sharing with him your short- AND long-term goals in REI. When you do that, he'll be able to help you construct a plan that will achieve your short-term goals that will result in proceeds and resources that will help you pursue and achieve your long-term goals - it's all one master plan. Many investors start off "too hot" by either overdeveloping their first property or spending their money too fast - either of these behaviors will sink your ship quick and disable you from even achieving your short-term goals. Game over.

If you don't have a mortgage/financial pro, I would recommend approaching a handful of investors who have been successful (for more than just 12-18 months) and asking them for a referral to their "money" guy. I wish you the very best!

Grant