New investor from Albany NY area

7 Replies

Hi All!  I'm an investor living in the greater Albany NY area (Ballston Lake, near Saratoga).  I bought my first house when I was 21, a distressed 2-family that I lived in while repairing and had renters paying 2/3 of the mortgage.  I sold the property after 4 years at a surprising profit, bought a single family home as our primary residence (also distressed) and intended on purchasing more rentals/flips immediately, but that happened to be around 2008 when all the lenders vanished overnight so that got put on hold.  Then came marriage, baby, new job, and various other typical excuses that prevented me from making the jump back into real estate, but now I'm back and making the plunge!  

Thanks to all for the great posts on here, I've been a reader and student of BP for years.

Ryan, welcome to the site. I am a new member as well, still reading and learning all I can before I make my first purchase. I'm actually interested on where you are focusing your search in the Albany area. I live in CA now, but I'm originally from Delmar and would like to invest in the area. There seems to be a budding tech industry in the area that I think can add growth potential to the market. The question I have is, where do the people who would take these jobs want to live? And more importantly where do they want to rent, as I'm looking for a buy and hold property. There is the Global Foundries operation in your backyard, which I've been told has attracted people to Saratoga Springs, but the rental rates up there don't really work with the housing prices. Then there is all the nanotech stuff going on down at SUNY, so I would imagine the neighborhoods around there might be in play like Colonie, guilderland or some of the western neighborhoods in Albany itself. Anyway I'm just curios to hear your thoughts on the area.