FL Investor

31 Replies

@Alex Malone

Welcome to BP! This site amazing! I did not find it till after I started investing and I wish I had.  Don't forget to listen to the podcast that BP puts out as well. 

Originally posted by @Alex Malone :

Hi,

I own few investment properties in St. Petersburg, FL and now considering venturing into Miami. This site is awesome with it's wealth of resources!

Hello and welcome!  I just read about how good the state of Florida is doing for investors.  I am 59 years old and I found BP about 4 months ago and I am still learning.  I graduated from college and got my broker license in 1980.  Regardless of that degree I felt more comfortable with construction back then so I got back in the construction business.  I have been in the construction business since I was 17.  If you think I might be any help to you please contact me at any time.  Good luck!

I don't know for a fact, but I have heard that the number of opportunities are a lot fewer and far between in Miami because of the institutional buyers and hedge funds buying up blocks of properties...

Good luck...

The hedges were also very heavily involved in the Tampa Bay area (i believe it was one of the top markets that blackstone bought in from 2010-2013).  I think that most of those guys have cooled off quite a bit in Tampa and Miami for the most.

Welcome to BP @Alex Malone

Miami market can be challenging...Very tough to find good deals, but they are out there. You just need a good process that you execute on consistently, and perhaps a bit of patience while you build up momentum. I find that the challenge stems from individual investors who are willing to pay "too much" for properties though, not institutional buyers.

There are opportunities in every market if you work at finding them. Florida should do well in the years to come. We have a tremendous influx of new people, a great climate, a great business climate, no state income tax, and more.