New from Fredericksburg, VA

11 Replies

I am just starting out in the real estate industry.  I have been married for 26 years and have 3 grown and productive children (that was my toughest job).  I worked in Washington, DC for 20 years and had a small business for 15 years. I am excited and scared at the same time to be starting something new.  I am in the process of creating a property management company, and I hope to buy and manage these homes.  I am having a tough time with the name but I am finally down to three possibilities.  I have been drafting my systems and processes and hope to be up and running very soon.  I needed a place to network and meet like minded individuals and I met a gentleman at a seminar who told me about this site.  It is a funny story how I met him but I offered him a kindness and he responded with this site.  It just goes to show that when you share a kindness towards others, strangers included, you reap rewards!

Welcome Brenda.

It doesn't sound like you're a licensee in Virginia. I wanted to make sure you're aware that you need your brokers license to do property management for others. You can manage your own property without it, but you can't sell a management service.

Originally posted by @James Wise :

@Brenda P. Welcome to BP!

What are the 3 name possibilities? Maybe the community can help you narrow it down.

The 3 name possibilities are BBP Home Solutions, BB Home Solutions and BB Home Solutions Now.  The BBP and BB are my initials.  

Originally posted by @Eddy Dumire :

Welcome Brenda.

It doesn't sound like you're a licensee in Virginia. I wanted to make sure you're aware that you need your brokers license to do property management for others. You can manage your own property without it, but you can't sell a management service.

Hi Eddy, no it is just to manage my own properties.  I have a Contractor's A license for the business I had and I intend to keep it as it may come in handy.