Neophyte from Honolulu Hawaii

10 Replies

Hi everyone,

My name is Duke and I'm a beginning investor from Hawaii. I was born and raised here so I am used to the crazy prices and lack of cash flowing properties ;-) I'm an engineer by background so I love my spreadsheets and internal rate of return analysis! The downside is that I did spend a year or so in analysis paralysis land several years ago when I made my first attempt to get my investing career off the ground. But I think I've got some real momentum now!

Currently I am putting in offers on multifamily properties in the Honolulu metro area (and surrounding 10 miles or so) with the goal of living in one unit, renting out the rest and covering PITI and then some. That will allow me to save more of my earned income to pour into the next deal while benefiting from tax advantages, appreciation, mortgage pay down, and learning to be a landlord!

My near term goal is to accumulate enough properties such that I have a passive income of $4k per month which about equals my current living expenses. Once I hit that then I'll aim higher :-)

I am looking for connections in Hawaii and would love to meet up and get coffee. I am in "team building" mode, so would love any referrals for these professionals:

-accountants with RE investing experience 

-attorneys w REI experience

-RE agents w REI experience

-general contractors

-hard money lenders

-RE investors

I am willing to shadow and assist other successful investors for free in exchange for the opportunity to learn. Sweat equity, doing drawings and permitting assistance, marketing, analysis, you name it.

On a personal note I grew up on the north shore of Oahu and I love to surf. I'm excited to be joining the community and look forward to learning from you all!

Aloha,

Duke

Aloha from Hawaii Kai, @Duke Hartman !