I'm new (Houston, TX)

17 Replies

Hey y'all!

My name is Philip and I just signed up for BP.

I've been looking into REI for a couple years and just recently decided enough time has passed and it's time to get busy.

I heard about BP via Facebook and a couple friends liking posts and articles from BP.

I have many years experience in construction of residential and now am a project manager for a company that rehabs multi-fam properties for investors. I did obtain my RE agent license a few years ago and had a couple job offers but it just didn't interest me at the time so I went back to the construction side.

My plan is to start with small multi-family residential and then eventually own 5 MF Complexes in the Houston area.

Welcome to BP!

Yea i remember a few years ago when i was bitten by the real estate bug and starting researching away.  I thought to myself, "man if only there was a site that had all of this information in one place!"  Then i stumbled on BP!  And my real estate prayers were answered...

Anyway, i plan to get into MF a little later on, but want to get my feet wet on SFR's rentals first.

See you around the forums!

Miles S.

Welcome to BP Philip. I'm new here as well.

I also come from a construction background. While out of college I became an airline pilot, I left that career when I found real estate. More recently I got my PMP (Project Management Professional) certificate and became a project director for a large construction firm. A position I held for 6 years. My next job was as an operations manager here in Houston before returning to real estate full time just this month.

While I enjoyed flying, and the atmosphere and steady paycheck of construction, as well as the ability to be part of a project and see it grow from a thought or plan to an actual building, I just keep returning to real estate because of the people, freedom, and opportunities. 

I'm sure I'll see you around this site, it really does have a ton of great information!