Newbie from Kendallville, Indiana

9 Replies

I am brand new to Bigger Pockets and real estate in general.   My husband and I have always had an interest, but were never sure where to start.   We fell into becoming landlords last year when we built a new home and ended up renting our previous home to a friend. We are looking to learn more about acquiring more investments. 

Welcome Jamie! Hope everything works out with being a landlord to your friend. I have had bad experiences mixing friendship and living arrangements so I truly wish you the best! 

Are you primarily interested in acquiring more rentals, doing flips, wholesaling, etc ?

Promotion
PassiveInvesting.com
Private Real Estate Syndication Team
ATTENTION: Learn the 7 Red Flags for Passive Apartment Investing
Do you want to learn how to know if you are investing with a good operator? Check this out now.
Read Article Now

We are leaning toward buying single family properties and either flipping or renting. We haven't quite decided what direction we want to go.   I have been reading here about the different options and the pros and cons.  It's been about 7 months and so far things are going smoothly with our friend.   We knew that was risky,  but hoping for the best. 

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!  There are two or three different meet ups in the Fort Wayne area if you are interested.  The first is playing the Cash Flow game on the second Saturdays of the month, this Saturday, at Sweetwater in the cafeteria at 10:00 am.  The other is the NIREA meeting on the third Saturday which meets at Pro-Tech on Sherman.  The meeting starts at 9:30 am and you can attend once as a guest.  

Let me know if you'd ever like to get together in FW and discuss real estate.