New Member- Durham NH

18 Replies

Hi All!

I'm a Newbie from Durham NH. I've been truly blown away by this site! (I might have said this in my profile, Oops ). I've always been fascinated by real estate  but always thought it was something for people more savvy,  hip, cool, rich, together, smart (I could keep going) than I am  but after stumbling  (by accident ) onto Bigger Pockets and listening to a few of Brandon's podcasts (investing with low/no money down- awesome!) I feel I can do this! I'm ready to do the work! If I'm right, the first order of business - read, read, read! I'm ready to get educated in this new endeavor! Don't hesitate to say hi and give me some advise! I'm eager to learn! I'm currently employed with a local housing authority in their maintenance department and started thinking,  "Geesh, wouldn't it be nice if I could fix up a place and sell it?! I'm a single dad of three beautiful daughters - so, I definitely need the money!  

Promotion
Innago
Property Management Software
Manage Your Rentals Better For Free. Save Time & Money.
Easily Collect Rent, Screen Tenants, Sign Leases, List Properties, Manage Work Orders, & Much More!
100% Free Try It Now

@Boyd Evans

Welcome. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.