Votes
Jarred DeArmas
  • Portland OR
Votes |
Newbie from San Diego

Jarred DeArmas
  • Portland OR
Posted Apr 12 2016, 08:45

Hey guys! My name is Jarred and I am a newbie from North County San Diego. I have been listening and learning...and lurking for the past 2 years when I made my account, but never really spent much time on the site until now. I have listened to all the podcasts, read the books and attended some webinars, and I finally decided that I need to start taking action. 

I am actively looking for deals in my local market of San Diego, mostly North County. I have a few strategies that I plan to use, depending on what kind of property I can secure under contract first. My main objective is to STOP PAYING SOMEONES MORTGAGE! My mom is a real estate agent here, so I have access to the MLS pretty much at my disposal, although finding deals that will cashflow is pretty difficult. Im not so worried about the property cashflowing, as long as I am not loosing money to own it. The way I look at it is If I can house hack and secure a property, like a 4 plex with FHA and 203k, I know I can find a way to add value. I will then have 3 of the units rented, which probably wont cover all of the mortgage and property expenses, but if what I am paying to live in the 4th unit is equal to or less than fair market rent, I consider that a successful hack. I figure I am going to pay rent to someone, might as well be myself.