Mike Bitar
  • North Hollywood, CA
Votes |
From Zero to Hero - New

Mike Bitar
  • North Hollywood, CA
Posted May 18 2016, 15:06

Greetings BiggerPockets extraordinaires', 

My name is Mike and I have been referred to this website by a friend. Never heard of BiggerPockets until just a few days ago.

I'm aged 27, 28 in November, and am a four year college graduate with a Finance concentration. I got my first job in the automotive finance industry with a company called Westlake Financial Services, specializing in subprime auto loans. I worked as a bank representative, signing up dealerships across the country and teaching them how to use the patented system developed by Westlake in order to help facilitate their sales and add to their bottom line. I marketed and promoted to new prospective dealerships to use us, and mended relationships with dealerships who had issues with us. I had a producing dealership base of about 20 in 1 year and a half, which by my company's standards was pretty good. Throughout my time working as a sales representative, I realized my skills geared heavily in the underwriting/analysis part of deciding whether or not a loan was too risky or potentially profitable and reliable. Therefore I moved departments and began my career in purchasing loans via bulk acquisitions from dealerships. I excelled in the analysis of loan performance and whether or not we should buy, or  decline.